





























## Joint statement on sham referendums organised by the Russian Federation in the occupied territories of Ukraine

As Chairs of Foreign Affairs Committees of our respective Parliaments, in response to the Russian regime imposing sham referendums in four temporarily occupied regions of Ukraine and to the continued — unprovoked and unjust — war of aggression waged against Ukraine by Russia, we:

reiterate that the unjust invasion of Ukraine by Russia is a gross violation of Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity, and is in clear violation of Russia's obligations arising from Article 2 of the UN Charter and international law, as well as the obligations Russia undertook by signing the Budapest Memorandum and committing to guarantee the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine;

emphasise that the sham referendums organised and imposed by the Russian occupation regime in four regions of Ukraine are a clear violation of international law, including the UN charter, and can only be considered as a false pretext to attempt to annex parts of Ukraine and justify their illegal war - a process reflecting Russia's approach in Crimea in 2014, combining military presence, violence, forced deportations, disinformation, intimidation, distribution of Russian passports to Ukrainian citizens and fake and illegitimate results;

underline that these referendums and whatever fabricated outcomes Russia will announce do not represent the demonstrated will of the Ukrainian people and are a severe violation of Ukraine's territorial integrity and independence, and the annexation of Ukrainian territory cannot be recognised by any country;

reiterate our strongest condemnation of the ongoing war of aggression of Russia against Ukraine, Russia's sham referendums and all officials and collaborators involved in the organisation of these referendums in the temporarily occupied territories of Ukraine, and demand that Russia immediately withdraw its forces from within Ukraine's internationally recognised borders and respect Ukraine's territory and sovereignty;

call on our partners and allies across the world and on all nations that respect the fundamental principles and core tenets of the UN charter – to reject and condemn the referendums organised in temporarily occupied regions of Ukraine and not to recognise any results that Russia might announce as well as the passports of the Russian Federation issued in the occupied regions of Ukraine;

call on the international community to seek accountability for those who have been actively involved in the organisation and holding of illegal referendums or engaged in other related activities;

invite the Euro-Atlantic community and its partners to urgently strengthen sanctions against Russia to weaken the ability of the Russian armed forces to wage war; increase military, financial, humanitarian and diplomatic support to Ukraine; unanimously support initiatives that condemn Russia's military actions in Ukraine and call for the perpetrators to be brought to justice; continue to isolate Russia from international and regional organisations, as well as take equivalent decisions regarding Belarus and impose equivalent sanctions on it as a supporter of Russian military aggression;

**stand with** Ukraine and the Ukrainian people and express our strongest conviction to continue our support to the Ukrainian people and provide them with security assistance to help them defend themselves and their country as they courageously resist Russia's invasion;

**commemorate** all the victims of Russian aggression in Ukraine – thousands of civilians and defenders of Ukraine;

express solidarity with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people.

### Marko Mihkelson

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Estonia

### **Rihards Kols**

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Latvia

#### **Bogdan Klich**

Chair, Senate Foreign and European Union Affairs Committee Poland

# Pau Mari-Klose

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Chamber of Deputies Spain

### **Pavel Fischer**

Chair of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security Czech Republic

# **Kery Marian**

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Slovakia

## Jussi Halla-aho

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Finland

### **Rudmer Heerema**

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Netherlands

# Laima Liucija Andrikiene

Chair, Committee of Foreign Affairs Lithuania

### Marek Kuchcinski

Chair, Sejm Foreign Affairs Committee Poland

#### **Marek Zenisek**

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee Chamber of Deputies Czech Republic

### **Titus Corlatean**

Chair, Senate Foreign Affairs Committee, Romania

### **Jean-Louis Bourlanges**

Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee National Assembly France

### **Michael Roth**

Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs Germany

### **Martin Lidegaard**

Chair of the Foreign Policy Committee of the Folketinget Denmark